English

Ironically, I Should be Reading

…but, here I am. And, here you are, too. I’m so excited about that!

No matter the way you found yourself here, welcome. You may be expecting an insightful blog where I talk about how I’m bettering myself in today’s chaotic society, but honestly, I sure hope you aren’t. Instead, you have stumbled upon my corner of the internet where I literally just write for pleasure. As an English major, I often find myself wanting to feed my hunger for writing that way. Although I love what I do, I’m not always down for writing so formally and professionally and political correctly. It’s a virtuous life constantly being under the spotlight, but even the Rockettes need their breaks. If you’d like, you can read more about that here.

In addition to not having a specific rhyme or reason to this blog, I also need to admit that I have no idea what I’m doing here. No, really. I knew I wanted to create an online platform so my family and friends could reach my thoughts, so I concluded a blog was the best way to go. The only problem? Give me HTML coding and I’ll look at you like you just used “your” in place for “you’re.” I think I can be all technologically cool and hip like your average millennial, but instead I just end up looking like my precious dad who thinks you have to pay for emojis. (Love ya, Dad.)

So, bare with me, guys. I’m here because I want to write, not because I want to look like I know what I’m doing. I’m not sure what to expect, but I’m looking forward to seeing what that becomes. I hope you are, too.

Also, if you’ve met me in person, you know that I love to talk. Most of the time I consider myself, well, “mildly loquacious” (if you caught that oxymoron, I love you). I thrive on interaction! This means that I would love any of your feedback. Feel free to give it to me early and often. Keep in mind that this is entirely an opinion blog, but hey, we’re all entitled to our own, and what makes this world great is people who know that.

I probably should be getting back to reading now. Are you procrastinating, too? Go team.

Stay loquacious,

Elyse

Leave a Reply

